Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Making Financiers and Torsades au Chocolat with Cookbook Author and Food and Travel Writer Mardi Michels (in English)

October 10 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm CDT

Monday, October 10, 2022
12pm PDT / 1pm MDT / 2pm CDT / 3pm EDT
Alliance Française of Pasadena
In English

Mardi Michels joins us from Toronto to demonstrate the preparation of two simple but great French snack food recipes—financiers and torsades au chocolat—as presented in her new cookbook, French Food For Everyone: Le Goûter. Registrants for this event will receive an advance copy of the two recipes Mardi will be demonstrating so you can follow along. Her book is being released a chapter at a time to enable people to get baking and cooking! “Le Goûter” was released in September 2021 and “Le Dîner” came out in December 2021. Coming soon will be “Le Petit Déjeuner.”

Mardi Michels is a full-time French teacher to elementary school-aged students in Toronto and is the author of the blog www.eatlivetravelwrite.com which focuses on culinary adventures near and far. She runs French cooking and baking classes for adults and children. Mardi grew up in Australia, lived and taught in Paris for over five years, and now calls Toronto home.

Mardi’s previous cookbook is In The French Kitchen With Kids, published in 2018 by Appetite by Random House. That book shows that French food does not have to be complicated. From savory dishes like Omelets, Croque-Monsieur, or Steak Frites to sweet treats like Profiteroles, Madeleines, and Crème Brûlée, readers will rediscover many French classics.

This event is free for AF Pasadena members and $15 for others. Please click here to register.

Details

Date:
October 10
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm CDT
Event Category:

Venue

Online