Loading Events

« All Events

Intriguing Facts About Historical Artists (en français)

November 9 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm CST

Friday, September 9, 2022
4pm PT / 5pm MT / 6pm CT / 7pm ET
Alliance Française of Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill
En français

Art history is full of wild tales and fascinating figures, which happily blend fact and fiction in our collective narrative.  Some of these stories endure because they remind us of the qualities we associate with artists—they’re creative, non-conforming, and more than a little eccentric. But in many cases, the truth is just as incredible as the art they create.

Join Professor Saïd Bouftass, PhD, for a fascinating talk about surprising and little known facts in the lives of history’s most famous artists, such as Picasso or Caravaggio, and how these events defined art as we know it today.

Saïd Bouftass graduated from the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-arts of Paris, and received his Doctorate in Philosophy of Art. His book ‘Observational Drawing: Phenomenological Meditations’  – written in French – can be found at the Louvre Museum’s store.

Saïd developed a new school of thought to draw, sculpt and paint the human body, based on a deeper morphological and philosophical perspective. He has taught art history and drawing in Morocco, Europe and the United States for over 20 years. He recently moved to Elizabeth City, NC, and teaches French through drawing and creating comics at the Northeast Academy for Aerospace and Advanced Technologies.

This event is free and is open to the public. Please click here to register.

Details

Date:
November 9
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm CST
Event Category:

Venue

Online