Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Exploration of Jupiter’s Moons (in English)

April 6 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT

Wednesday, April 6, 2022
10am PDT / 11am MDT / 12pm CDT / 1pm EDT
Alliance française de Pasadena
In English

This event is organized by the Office for Science and Technology of the Embassy of France in the United States, which has a team at the Consulate of France in Los Angeles, and hosted at the Alliance Francaise de Pasadena.

Scientific experts from NASA/JPL-Caltech and ESA will talk about how the European-American collaboration promotes the search for habitable worlds, in the exploration of Jupiter’s moon.

Europa and Ganymede, and potentially Callisto, three natural satellites of Jupiter, host global liquid saltwater oceans maintained by internal heating beneath their icy surfaces. These oceans have captured the interest and curiosity of the scientific community: do they harbor environments and conditions suitable for life?

At Café des Sciences, April 6th 2022, French planetary scientists will share their experience and excitement for the upcoming revolutionary space science missions JUICE (ESA) and Europa Clipper (NASA) that will launch towards Jupiter’s moons in 2023 and 2024.

This event is free and is open to the public.  Please click here to register.

Details

Date:
April 6
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CDT
Event Category:

Venue

Online