Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Demystifying the French: A Panel Discussion

January 29 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CST

Saturday, January 29, 202210am PST / 11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm ESTFederation of Alliances Françaises USAIn EnglishFollowing the success of our first “Demystifying the French: A Panel Discussion” event, we’re pleased to welcome our panel back again for a continuation of their discussion on insights, perspectives, and experiences gathered over the course of many years of living, traveling, and/or working in France. Our guests will take questions from the audience about how to understand, appreciate, and best deal with the sometimes bewildering, often admirable, nearly always fascinating ways of the French!
Mark Greenside was born and raised in New York, and now lives in northern California. In 1991 he was dragged to a little village in Brittany by a girlfriend to spend the summer. He and the girlfriend fell out of love with each other, but he fell in love with the village, and to his astonishment ended up buying a home there, a rollicking adventure he recounts in I’ll Never Be French (no matter what I do), described by the San Francisco Chronicle as a “fun and high-spirited read, and proof that one is never too old to find true happiness in life.” In his latest, and equally entertaining (and helpful) book, he tells the continuing story of how he is (not quite) Mastering the Art of French Living.
Janet Hulstrand grew up in Minnesota, has lived in New York and Washington D.C., and has spent as much time as she can in France since her first trip there in 1978. Since 1997 she has taught “Paris: A Literary Adventure” for City University of New York study abroad programs; she also teaches literature and culture classes focusing on France for Politics

Details

Date:
January 29
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm CST
Event Category:

Venue

Online